

Conference of Western Wayne 39293 Plymouth Road Suite 101 Livonia, MI 48150 734.953.8834

## **CWW**

## Serving 700,000 Michigan Residents

CWW Represents:

Cities: Belleville, Dearborn, Dearborn Heights, Garden City,

Inkster, Livonia, Northville, Plymouth, Romulus, Wayne and Westland

Townships: Canton Charter Township, Huron Charter Township, Northville Charter Township,

Plymouth Charter Township, Redford Charter Township, Sumpter Township and

Van Buren Charter Township.

## CWW RESOLUTION 2014-104 SUPPORTING CWW COMMUNITIES HAVING REPRESENTATION AT ONGOING REGIONAL WATER AUTHORITY FORMATION NEGOTATIONS

May 9, 2014

**WHEREAS**, the Detroit Water and Sewerage Department (DWSD) currently provides water and sewage service to four million residents of southeastern Michigan; and

**WHEREAS**, the Conference of Western Wayne (CWW) communities are a vital customer of DWSD. The future security, quality and cost of the water supply to the CWW communities is of extreme importance to the 700,000 residents of those communities; and

WHEREAS, the counties of Wayne, Oakland and Macomb have been involved in discussions with representatives of the City of Detroit regarding the formation of an Authority that would manage and operate DWSD going forward for at least 40 years; and

**WHEREAS**, the eighteen CWW communities are essential to DWSD for distribution and collection purposes; and

**WHEREAS**, negotiations between the Counties and the City have occurred, the CWW communities are not accurately represented at these negotiations; and

**WHEREAS**, the CWW communities agree that the formation of a regional water authority is a viable solution to the issues facing the DWSD. Mediation talks should continue with a representative from the CWW communities participating actively in that process; and

WHEREAS, the CWW communities fully support the positions of SOCWA and WTUA; and

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, the Conference of Western Wayne communities hereby appeals strongly to be given the opportunity to represent our 700,000 residents during this mediation process.

Supervisor Tracey Schultz Kobylarz, CWW Chairman of the Board:

I attest that this is a true and correct copy of the Motion adopted by the CWW Board of Directors at its regular meeting held on May 9, 2014 in the City of Plymouth.

Motion: Mayor Jack O'Reilly, City of Dearborn Second: Mayor Al Haidous, City of Wayne

Ayes: Supervisor Tracey Schultz Kobylarz, Redford Charter Township, Chair

Mayor Jack O'Reilly, City of Dearborn, Vice-Chair

Supervisor Phil LaJoy, Canton Charter Township, Secretary

Mayor Kerreen Conley, City of Belleville, Treasurer

Mayor Jack Kirksey, City of Livonia Mayor Daniel Dwyer, City of Plymouth Mayor Chris Johnson, City of Northville

Supervisor David Glaab, Huron Charter Township

Mayor Hilliard Hampton, City of Inkster

Supervisor Richard Reaume, Plymouth Charter Township

Director Tim Keyes, City of Romulus Mayor William Wild, City of Westland Mayor Al Haidous, City of Wayne

Clerk Sue Hillebrand, Northville Charter Township Councilwoman Jaylee Lynch, City of Garden City

Nays: none

Absent: City of Dearborn Heights

Sumpter Township

Van Buren Charter Township



Conference of Western Wayne 39293 Plymouth Road Suite 101 Livonia, Michigan 48150 c-w-w.org