

The Governing Voice for 700,000 Wayne County Residents

CWW Represents:

Cities: Belleville, Dearborn, Dearborn Heights, Garden City,

Inkster, Livonia, Northville, Plymouth, Romulus, Wayne and Westland

Townships: Canton Charter Township, Huron Charter Township, Northville Charter Township,

Plymouth Charter Township, Redford Charter Township, Sumpter Township and

Van Buren Charter Township

CWW RESOLUTION 2016-102

SUPPORTING AND ENDORSING RESOLUTION 2016-195, PARKS MILLAGE CONTINUATION, PASSED BY THE WAYNE COUNTY COMMISSION

May 13, 2016

WHEREAS, The Conference of Western Wayne (CWW), a consortium of eighteen Western Wayne communities in Wayne County who serve a total population of 700,000 residents, has joined in an effort to improve local government and enhance the quality of life for area residents through municipal cooperation; and

WHEREAS, the Conference of Western Wayne serves the largest population in Wayne County and is the largest tax base in Wayne County; and

WHEREAS, the Wayne County Parks Millage, at slightly under 0.25 of a mill, raises about \$10 million a year for Wayne County; and

WHEREAS, the CWW communities historically have contributed over 60% of the parks millage annually; and

WHEREAS, since 2009, the county has participated in a local parks partnering initiative, in which 15% of county parks millage dollars are returned to the local communities in the form of reimbursement for capital improvements made to local parks for projects agreed upon between the county and the local communities; and

WHEREAS, on December 11, 2015 the CWW Board of Directors passed Resolution 2015-107 calling for a continuation of the 15% local parks partnering initiative, and

WHEREAS, on May 5, 2016 the Wayne County Commission passed its Resolution 2016-195, authorizing the placement on the August 2, 2016 Primary Election ballot of the following proposal:

PARKS MILLAGE CONTINUATION

To continue the millage authorized in 2010, shall Wayne County levy this millage at the estimated 2015 rollback rate of .2459 (about 25 cents per \$1,000 of taxable valuation) for five more years (2016 through 2020) to continue to improve and operate several parks and related facilities, including Hines Park, Elizabeth Park, Chandler Park, and improvements to municipal parks in the 43 communities as provided in an implementing ordinance through an annual allocation by commission district of the greater of \$50,000 or 15% of the total funds generated from that district, on the condition that, for any year for which this continued levy would be imposed, Wayne County must budget from other sources an amount equal to its 1995-1996 fiscal year appropriation for parks? This renewal is projected to generate \$9,865,514 in 2016.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, the Conference of Western Wayne thanks all those that supported this Resolution, and particularly Commissioners Anderson, Barone, Haidous, Marecki, Webb and Woronchak, who represent CWW member communities, for supporting county and municipal parks located in their districts.

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the CWW mayors and supervisors and the communities they represent look forward to continue working with Wayne County Executive Warren C. Evans and the Wayne County Commission to help improve our parks, which are so important to the quality of life in our county.

THEREFORE BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the CWW Board of Directors endorses the Parks Millage Continuation, which is a renewal of .2459 of a mill and not a new tax, and encourages its passage at the August 2, 2016 Primary Election.

THEREFORE BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that a copy of this Resolution be sent to the Wayne County Commission and Wayne County Executive Warren C. Evans expressing CWW's appreciation.

Mayor William Wild, CWW Chairman of the Board:

I attest that this is a true and correct copy of the Motion adopted at the direction of the CWW Board of Directors at its regular meeting held on May 13, 2016 in Redford Township.

Motion: Supervisor Phil LaJoy, Canton Township Second: Mayor Susan Rowe, City of Wayne

Ayes: Mayor Kerreen Conley, City of Belleville
Director Doug Feldkamp, City of Dearborn
Mayor Dan Paletko, City of Dearborn Heights
Mayor Pro-Tem Jaylee Lynch, City of Garden City

Mayor Byron Nolan, City of Inkster Mayor Dennis Wright, City of Livonia Mayor Ken Roth, City of Northville Mayor Dan Dwyer, City of Plymouth Mayor Susan Rowe, City of Wayne
Mayor William Wild, City of Westland
Supervisor Phil LaJoy, Canton Township
Trustee Donna Myndrysa, Huron Township
Supervisor Robert Nix, Northville Township
Supervisor Shannon Price, Plymouth Township
Supervisor Tracey Schultz Kobylarz, Redford Township
Lianne Claire, Van Buren Township

Nays: None

Absent: Romulus, Sumpter Township

Conference of Western Wayne, 39293 Plymouth Road, STE 101 Livonia, MI 48150

