Local Government Association Elects 2016 Leadership

LIVONIA—The Conference of Western Wayne (CWW), an association of 18 chief elected local officials in Michigan’s largest county, announced today that it has selected its new 2016 leadership team.

The CWW 2016 Executive Committee is comprised of Chairman Mayor Wild (Westland), Vice-Chairman Mayor Jack O’Reilly (Dearborn), Secretary Mayor LeRoy Burcroff (Romulus), Treasurer Supervisor Robert Nix II (Northville Township) and Chair Emeritus Supervisor Tracey Schultz Kobylarz (Redford Township), who led the CWW the last two years. The committee was sworn in by the Honorable Christopher D. Dingell.

“I am truly honored to serve the 18 communities in Western Wayne County that make up this association,” said newly elected CWW Chairman, Mayor Bill Wild. “We meet monthly to discuss issues such as legislation, transportation, public safety, substance abuse prevention, community and economic development, employment and the environmental health of the region.”

The CWW is a bi-partisan group that works collectively to discuss mutual issues, share information and generally improve the quality of life for the nearly 700,000 residents who live in the region and make up the most populated area in Wayne County.

The CWW communities are the Cities of Belleville, Dearborn, Dearborn Heights, Garden City, Inkster, Livonia, Northville, Plymouth, Romulus, Wayne and Westland, and the Townships of Canton, Huron, Northville, Plymouth, Redford, Sumpter and Van Buren.

The CWW area is 340 square miles, bordered by Washtenaw County to the west, Oakland County to the north, the City of Detroit to the east, and Monroe County to the south.

Despite the diversity of size, economic development and population density, these communities have been working together – working regionally – to enhance this area of Wayne County for over 35 years

“This position complements an initiative I started last year to mobilize mayors in the state,” said Mayor Wild. “We are all facing issues at the state-level that impact our cities and communities. It is imperative that we collaborate and create solutions to the challenges we encounter.”

The 18 members of CWW selected the new leadership at its board meeting on January 8 in Northville Township.

CONTACT: Jordyn Sellek, Executive Director, CWW, 734-968-6604