LIVONIA—The Conference of Western Wayne (CWW), an association of 18 chief elected local officials in Michigan’s largest county, announced today that it has selected its new 2018 leadership team.

The CWW 2018 Executive Committee is comprised of Chairman Mayor LeRoy Burcroff (Romulus), Vice-Chairman Supervisor Robert Nix II (Northville Township), Secretary Mayor Kerreen Conley (Belleville), Treasurer Supervisor Pat Williams (Canton Township) and Chair Emeritus Mayor Jack O’Reilly (Dearborn), who led the CWW the last year.  The committee was sworn in by the Honorable Melissa Cox.

“I am truly grateful to serve the 18 communities in Western Wayne County that make up this organization,” said newly elected CWW Chairman, Mayor LeRoy Burcroff. “Our board has met monthly for over three decades, to discuss issues such as state and federal legislation, county matters, transportation, public safety, substance use prevention, and community and economic development.  Our region is the most populated in the County and we pride ourselves on working together to promote Western Wayne.”

The CWW is a bi-partisan group that works collectively to discuss mutual issues, share information and generally improve the quality of life for the nearly 700,000 residents who live in the region.  CWW also serves as the 9-1-1 Service District for Western Wayne County.

The CWW communities are the Cities of Belleville, Dearborn, Dearborn Heights, Garden City, Inkster, Livonia, Northville, Plymouth, Romulus, Wayne and Westland, and the Townships of Canton, Huron, Northville, Plymouth, Redford, Sumpter and Van Buren.

The CWW area is 340 square miles, bordered by Washtenaw County to the west, Oakland County to the north, the City of Detroit to the east, and Monroe County to the south.

Despite the diversity of size, economic development and population density, these communities have been working together – working regionally – to enhance this area of Wayne County for over 38 years.

“All of our 700,000 residents and 340 square miles are impacted by the decisions and laws that are made at the federal, state and county levels”, said Mayor Burcroff.   “It is vital that we continue to collaborate in order to create the best solutions possible to the challenges we face.”

The 18 members of CWW selected the new leadership at its board meeting on January 12 in Plymouth Township.


CONTACT: Jordyn Sellek, Executive Director, CWW, 734-968-6604